

The statute of the Nordic Council (Helsinki, 22 February 1957)

Source: Archives historiques du Conseil de l'Europe - Historical archives of the Council of Europe, Strasbourg. Nordic Council 1958/1974, 24029.

Copyright: (c) Historical archives of the Council of Europe

URL: http://www.cvce.eu/obj/the_statute_of_the_nordic_council_helsinki_22_february_1957-en-d4904999-b567-42f8-

1/3

bd25-5f9411c0097b.html **Publication date:** 24/09/2012

24/09/2012



Statute of the Nordic Council

(as recommended to the Governments by the Council at its 5th session at Helsinki in February 1957, and as adopted by the Governments and the Parliaments of the Member States later in 1957. Effective as from January 1st, 1958).

Article 1

Nordisk Råd (The Nordic Council) is a body formed for the purpose of consultation among the Folketing of Denmark, the Eduskunta-Riksdag of Finland, the Althing of Iceland, the Storting of Norway and the Riksdag of Sweden, as well as the Governments of these countries, in matters involving joint action by any or all of these countries.

Article 2

The Council shall consist of 69 elected delegates and of Government representatives.

For such terms and by such methods as shall be decided in each country, the Folketing of Denmark, the Eduskunta-Riksdag of Finland, the Storting of Norway and the Riksdag of Sweden shall each elect from among their members 16 delegates to the Council and the necessary number of deputy delegates, and the Althing of Iceland shall elect from among its members 5 delegates to the Council and the necessary number of deputy delegates. Among the elected delegates of each country, different political opinions shall be represented.

Each Government may appoint from among its members as many Government representatives as it desires.

Article 3

The Government representatives have no vote in the Council.

Article 4

The Council shall meet once a year on such date as it may decide (Ordinary session). Furthermore, special meetings may be held, if the Council so decides, or if a meeting is requested by not less than two Governments or not less than 25 elected delegates (Extraordinary session). Ordinary sessions shall be held in the capital of one of the countries, as decided by the Council.

Article 5

For each ordinary session and for the period until the next ordinary session, the Council from among its elected delegates shall elect a President and four Vice-Presidents who, together, shall constitute the Presidium of the Council.

Article 6

The deliberations of the Council shall be open to the public, unless, in view of the special nature of a matter, the Council decides otherwise.

Article 7

During each ordinary session the elected delegates shall form standing committees to undertake preparatory work in connection with matters before the Council. By decision of the Presidium, the standing committees may meet also during inter-sessionary periods in special cases.

Special committees may be set up during inter-sessionary periods to prepare special matters.

Article 8

The delegation of each country shall appoint a Secretary and other staff members. The activities and collaboration of the secretariats shall be supervised by the Presidium.

Article 9

All Governments and delegates are entitled to submit a matter to the Council by written application to the

2 / 3 24/09/2012



Presidium The Presidium shall cause such investigations to be made as it may deem necessary and shall send out the documentation to the Governments and delegates well ahead of the session.

Article 10

The Council shall discuss questions of common interest to the countries and may adopt recommendations to the Governments. Recommendations shall be accompanied by information as to how each delegate has voted.

In questions which concern only certain of the countries, only the delegates from those countries may vote.

Article 11

At each ordinary session, the Governments should inform the Council of any action taken on the recommendations of the Council.

Article 12

The Council shall adopt its own rules of procedure.

Article 13

Each country shall defray the expenses involved by its membership in the Council. The Council shall decide how common expenses shall be apportioned.

The Statute has been translated from the Danish text.

The Folketing of Denmark, the Eduskunta-Riksdag of Finland, the Althing of Iceland, the Storting of Norway, and the Riksdag of Sweden are the legislative assemblies of the respective countries.

3/3

24/09/2012