

Protocol (No 8) on the location of the seats of the institutions and of certain bodies and departments (Amsterdam, 2 October 1997)

Caption: Protocol annexed to the Treaty on European Union and the Treaties establishing the European Community, the European Coal and Steel Community and the European Atomic Energy Community by the Treaty of Amsterdam of 2 October 1997.

Source: Protocol (No 7) on the institutions with the prospect of enlargement of the European Union, in Official Journal of the European Communities (OJEC). 10.11.1997, No C 340. [s.l.]. p. 111. ISSN 0378-6986. "Protocol (No 8) on the location of the seats of the institutions and of certain bodies and departments of the European Communities and of Europol (2 October 1997)", p. 112.

Copyright: All rights of reproduction, public communication, adaptation, distribution or dissemination via Internet, internal network or any other means are strictly reserved in all countries.

The documents available on this Web site are the exclusive property of their authors or right holders.

Requests for authorisation are to be addressed to the authors or right holders concerned.

Further information may be obtained by referring to the legal notice and the terms and conditions of use regarding this site.

URL:

http://www.cvce.eu/obj/protocol_no_8_on_the_location_of_the_seats_of_the_institutions_and_of_certain_bodies_and_d epartments amsterdam 2 october 1997-en-dcb799ea-e1e6-4e6e-ab22-890c974602e6.html

1/2

Last updated: 24/08/2015

24/08/2015



Protocol (No 8) on the location of the seats of the institutions and of certain bodies and departments of the European Communities and of Europol (1997)

THE REPRESENTATIVES OF THE GOVERNMENTS OF THE MEMBER STATES,

HAVING REGARD to Article 216 of the Treaty establishing the European Community, Article 77 of the Treaty establishing the European Coal and Steel Community and Article 189 of the Treaty establishing the European Atomic Energy Community,

HAVING REGARD to the Treaty on European Union,

RECALLING AND CONFIRMING the Decision of 8 April 1965, and without prejudice to the decisions concerning the seat of future institutions, bodies and departments,

HAVE AGREED UPON the following provisions, which shall be annexed to the Treaty on European Union and the Treaties establishing the European Communities,

Sole Article

- (a) The European Parliament shall have its seat in Strasbourg where the 12 periods of monthly plenary sessions, including the budget session, shall be held. The periods of additional plenary sessions shall be held in Brussels. The committees of the European Parliament shall meet in Brussels. The General Secretariat of the European Parliament and its departments shall remain in Luxembourg.
- (b) The Council shall have its seat in Brussels. During the months of April, June and October, the Council shall hold its meetings in Luxembourg.
- (c) The Commission shall have its seat in Brussels. The departments listed in Articles 7, 8 and 9 of the Decision of 8 April 1965 shall be established in Luxembourg.
- (d) The Court of Justice and the Court of First Instance shall have their seats in Luxembourg.
- (e) The Court of Auditors shall have its seat in Luxembourg.
- (f) The Economic and Social Committee shall have its seat in Brussels.
- (g) The Committee of the Regions shall have its seat in Brussels.
- (h) The European Investment Bank shall have its seat in Luxembourg.
- (i) The European Monetary Institute and the European Central Bank shall have their seat in Frankfurt.

2/2

(j) The European Police Office (Europol) shall have its seat in The Hague.

24/08/2015