Presidencies of the Council of the European Union (1958-2020)

Caption: List of the Presidencies of the Council from a historical perspective (EEC Council, EAEC Council, Council of the European Communities and Council of the European Union).

Source: CVCE.

Copyright: (c) CVCE.EU by UNI.LU

All rights of reproduction, of public communication, of adaptation, of distribution or of dissemination via Internet, internal network or any other means are strictly reserved in all countries. Consult the legal notice and the terms and conditions of use regarding this site.

URL

 $http://www.cvce.eu/obj/presidencies_of_the_council_of_the_european_union_1958_2020-en-2d98ee61-3ef7-4fda-8471-72eb18c75006.html$







Presidencies of the Council of the European Union (1958-2020) Presidencies of the Six

residencies of the Six
1 January - 30 June 1958Belgium
1 July - 31 December 1958Germany
1 January - 30 June 1959France
1 July - 31 December 1959 Italy
1 January - 30 June 1960 Luxembourg
1 July - 31 December 1960 Netherlands
1 January - 30 June 1961Belgium
1 July - 31 December 1961 Germany
1 January - 30 June 1962France
1 July - 31 December 1962 Italy
1 January - 30 June 1963Luxembourg
1 July - 31 December 1963Netherlands
1 January - 30 June 1964Belgium
1 July - 31 December 1964Germany
1 January - 30 June 1965 France
1 July - 31 December 1965 <mark>Italy</mark>
1 January - 30 June 1966Luxembourg
1 July - 31 December 1966 Netherlands
1 January - 30 June 1967Belgium
1 July - 31 December 1967 Germany
1 January - 30 June 1968 France
1 July - 31 December 1968 <mark>Italy</mark>
1 January - 30 June 1969Luxembourg
1 July - 31 December 1969 Netherlands
1 January - 30 June 1970 Belgium
1 July - 31 December 1970 Germany
1 January - 30 June 1971 France
1 July - 31 December 1971 Italy
1 January - 30 June 1972 Luxembourg
1 July - 31 December 1972Netherlands



Presidencies of the Nine

Presidencies of the Nine		
	1 January - 30 June 1973	Belgium
	1 July - 31 December 1973	Denmark
	1 January - 30 June 1974	Germany
	1 July - 31 December 1974	France
	1 January - 30 June 1975	Ireland
	1 July - 31 December 1975	Italy
	1 January - 30 June 1976	Luxembourg
	1 July - 31 December 1976	
	1 January - 30 June 1977	
	1 July - 31 December 1977	
	1 January - 30 June 1978	
	1 July - 31 December 1978	
	1 January - 30 June 1979	
	1 July - 31 December 1979	
	1 January - 30 June 1980	
	1 July - 31 December 1980	
	1 January - 30 June 1981	
	1 July - 31 December 1981	



Presidencies of the Ten

Presidencies of the Ten		
	1 January - 30 June 1982	Belgium
	1 July - 31 December 1982	Denmark
	1 January - 30 June 1983	Germany
	1 July - 31 December 1983	Greece
	1 January - 30 June 1984	France
	1 July - 31 December 1984	Ireland
	1 January - 30 June 1985	Italy
	1 July - 31 December 1985	Luxembourg
	1 January - 30 June 1986	Netherlands
	1 July - 31 December 1986	United Kingdom



Presidencies of the Twelve

Presidencies of the Twelve		
	1 January - 30 June 1987	Belgium
	1 July - 31 December 1987	Denmark
	1 January - 30 June 1988	Germany
	1 July - 31 December 1988	United Kingdom
	1 January - 30 June 1989	Spain
	1 July - 31 December 1989	France
	1 January - 30 June 1990	Ireland
	1 July - 31 December 1990	Italy
	1 January - 30 June 1991	Luxembourg
	1 July - 31 December 1991	Netherlands
	1 January - 30 June 1992	Portugal
	1 July - 31 December 1992	United Kingdom
	1 January - 30 June 1993	Denmark
	1 July - 31 December 1993	Belgium
	1 January - 30 June 1994	Greece
	1 July - 31 December 1994	Germany
	1 January - 30 June 1995	France
	1 July - 31 December 1995	Spain
	1 January - 30 June 1996	Italy
	1 July - 31 December 1996	Ireland
	1 January - 30 June 1997	Netherlands
	1 July - 31 December 1997	Luxembourg
	1 January - 30 June 1998	



Presidencies of the Fifteen

Presidencies of the Fifteen		
	1 July - 31 December 1998	Austria
	1 January - 30 June 1999	Germany
	1 July - 31 December 1999	Finland
	1 January - 30 June 2000	Portugal
	1 July - 31 December 2000	France
	1 January - 30 June 2001	Sweden
	1 July - 31 December2001	Belgium
	1 January - 30 June 2002	Spain
	1 July - 31 December 2002	
	1 January - 30 June 2003	Greece
	1 July - 31 December 2003	Italy
	1 January - 30 June 2004	Ireland
	1 July - 31 December 2004	
	1 January - 30 June 2005	
	1 July - 31 December 2005	United Kingdom



Presidencies of the Twenty-five

Presidencies of the Twenty-five	
1 January - 30 June 2006	Austria
1 July - 31 December 2006	Finland
1 January - 30 June 2007	Germany
1 July - 31 December 2007	Portugal
1 January - 30 June 2008	Slovenia
1 July - 31 December 2008	France
1 January - 30 June 2009	Czech Republic
1 July - 31 December 2009	Sweden
1 January - 30 June 2010	Spain
1 July - 31 December 2010	Belgium
1 January - 30 June 2011	Hungary
1 July - 31 December 2011	Poland
1 January - 30 June 2012	Denmark
1 July - 31 December 2012	Cyprus
1 January - 30 June 2013	Ireland
1 July - 31 December 2013	Lithuania
1 January - 30 June 2014	Greece
1 July - 31 December 2014	Italy
1 January - 30 June 2015	Latvia
1 July - 31 December 2015	Luxembourg
1 January - 30 June 2016	Netherlands
1 July - 31 December 2016	Slovakia
1 January - 30 June 2017	Malta
1 July - 31 December 2017	United Kingdom
1 January - 30 June 2018	Estonia



Presidencies of the Twenty-seven

Presidencies of the Twenty-seven	
1 July - 31 December 2018	Bulgaria
1 January - 30 June 2019	Austria
1 July - 31 December 2019	Romania
1 January - 30 June 2020	



8/8