Presidents of the European Parliament

Caption: List of the Presidents of the Common Assembly, the European Parliamentary Assembly and the European Parliament.

Source: CVCE.

Copyright: (c) CVCE.EU by UNI.LU

All rights of reproduction, of public communication, of adaptation, of distribution or of dissemination via Internet, internal network or any other means are strictly reserved in all countries. Consult the legal notice and the terms and conditions of use regarding this site.

URL: http://www.cvce.eu/obj/presidents_of_the_european_parliament-en-7bec8200-0adc-4351-bb40-04a3004b1526.html

Last updated: 09/07/2016





www.cvce.eu

Presidents of the European Parliament

Presidents of the Common Assembly of the ECSC (1952-1958)

Presidents of the Common Assembly of the ECSC (1952-1958)	Mandate	Political group	Nationality
Paul-Henri SPAAK	1952-1954	Socialists	Belgian
Alcide DE GASPERI	1954	Christian Democrats	Italian
Giuseppe PELLA	1954-1956	Christian Democrats	Italian
Hans FURLER	1956-1958	Christian Democrats	German

Presidents of the European Parliamentary Assembly (1958-1962)

Presidents of the European Parliamentary Assembly (1958-1962) *	Mandate	Political group	Nationality
Robert SCHUMAN	1958-1960	Christian Democrats	French
Hans FURLER	1960-1962	Christian Democrats	German
* The Assembly agreed to change its name to 'European Parliamentary Assembly' in its Resolution of 20 March 1958.			

Presidents of the European Parliament (1962-1979)

Presidents of the European Parliament	Mandate	Political group	Nationality
Gaetano MARTINO	1962-1964	Liberals and allies	Italian
Jean-Pierre DUVIEUSART	1964-1965	Christian Democrats	Belgian
Victor LEEMANS	1965-1966	Christian Democrats	Belgian
Alain POHER	1966-1969	Christian Democrats	French
Mario SCELBA	1969-1971	Christian Democrats	Italian
Walter BEHRENDT	1971-1973	Socialists	German
Cornelis BERKHOUWER	1973-1975	Liberals and allies	Dutch
Georges SPENALE	1975-1977	Socialists	French
Emilio COLOMBO	1977-1979	Christian Democrats	Italian
* The Assembly agreed to change its name to 'European Parliar	nent' in its Resolution of 30 Ma	rch 1962	

* The Assembly agreed to change its name to 'European Parliament' in its Resolution of 30 March 1962

Presidents of the European Parliament (1979-2017)

Presidents of the European Parliament	Mandate	Political group	Nationality
Simone VEIL	1979-1982	Liberal and Democratic Group	French
Pieter DANKERT	1982-1984	Socialist	Dutch
Pierre PFLIMLIN	1984-1987	Group of the European People's Party	French
Lord Henry PLUMB	1987-1989	Group of the European Democrats	British
Enrique BARÓN CRESPO	1989-1992		Spanish
Egon KLEPSCH		Group of the European People's Party and European Democrats	German
Klaus HÄNSCH		Group of the Party of European Socialists	German
José María GIL-ROBLES GIL-DELGADO	1997-1999	Group of the European People's Party and European Democrats	Spanish
Nicole FONTAINE		Group of the European People's Party and European Democrats	French
Pat COX		Group of the European Liberal, Democratic and Reformist Party	Irish
Josep BORRELL FONTELLES	2004-2007	Group of the Party of European Socialists	Spanish
Hans-Gert PÖTTERING		Group of the European People's Party and European Democrats	German
Jerzy BUZEK	2009-2012	Group of the European People's Party (Christian Democrats)	Polish
Martin SCHULZ	2012-2014	Group of the Progressive Alliance of Socialists and Democrats	German
Martin SCHULZ	2014-2017	Group of the Progressive Alliance of Socialists and Democrats	German

** After the European elections in 2009, the Group went back to its roots as the 'Group of the European People's Party (Christian Democrats)'.



www.cvce.eu