

Members of the Commission of the European Economic Community (EEC)

Caption: Table showing the composition of the EEC Commission from 1958 to 1967. **Source:** CVCE.

Copyright: (c) Centre Virtuel de la Connaissance sur l'Europe (CVCE)

All rights of reproduction, of public communication, of adaptation, of distribution or of dissemination via Internet,

internal network or any other means are strictly reserved in all countries.

Consult the legal notice and the terms and conditions of use regarding this site.

URL: http://www.cvce.eu/obj/Members_of_the_Commission_of_the_European_Economic_Community_EEC-en-

124beafd-2cda-47ff-9c56-e7a6bdc21526.html

Publication date: 13/08/2011

(CVCe)

Members of the Commission of the European Economic Community (EEC) From 10 January 1958 to 9 January 1962

From 10 January 1958 to 9 January 1962		
Walter HALLSTEIN (President)	Administration	Germany
Piero MALVESTITI (resigned on 15 September 1959 when appointed member of the High Authority of the ECSC on 25 July 1959)	Administration	Italy
	Internal Market (Chairman)	
	Economic and Financial Affairs	
	Transport	
Giuseppe CARON (from 9 December 1959, successor to Malvestiti, Vice-President)	Administration	Italy
	Internal Market (Chairman)	
	Economic and Financial Affairs	
	Transport	
	External Relations	
Sicco MANSHOLT (Vice-President)	Administration	Netherlands
	Economic and Financial Affairs	
	Social Affairs	
	Agriculture (President)	
Robert MARJOLIN (Vice-President)	Administration	France
	Economic and Financial Affairs (Chairman)	
	External Relations	
	Competition	
Hans VON DER GROEBEN	Competition (Chairman)	Germany
	Economic and Financial Affairs (until 1961)	
	Agriculture	
	Development of Overseas Countries and	
	Territories	
Robert LEMAIGNEN (until 9 January 1962)	Agriculture	France
	Development of Overseas Countries and	
	Territories	
	(Chairman)	
	Transport	

Lionello LEVI SANDRI	Development of Overseas Countries and	Italy
(from 22 February 1961, successor to Petrilli)	Territories	
	(Chairman)	
	Economic and Financial Affairs	
	Social Affairs (Chairman)	
	European Social Fund (Chairman)	
Giuseppe PETRILLI (until 8 February 1961 - resigned on 5	Social Affairs (Chairman)	Italy
December 1960)		
	Development of Overseas Countries and	
	Territories	
	External Relations	
Jean REY	External Relations (Chairman)	Belgium
	Internal Market	
	Competition	
Lambert SCHAUS	Transport (Chairman)	Luxembourg
	Agriculture	
	Internal Market	

From 10 January 1962 to 6 July 1967

From 10 January 1962 to 6 July 1967		
Walter HALLSTEIN (President)	Administration	Germany
Giuseppe CARON (Vice-President, until 16 May 1963 - resignation)	Administration	Italy
	Internal Market	
	Press and Information	
	External Relations	
	Transport	
Sicco MANSHOLT (Vice-President)	Administration	Netherlands
	Agriculture	
Lionello LEVI SANDRI (Vice-President)	Administration	Italy
	Internal Market	
	Former Procedures	
	Budget and Financial Management	
	Management of Internal Affairs of the	
	Directorate-General for Administration	
Robert MARJOLIN (Vice-President)	Administration	Italy
Guido COLONNA DI PALIANO	Administration	Italy
(from 9 September 1964, successor to Caron)	Internal Market	
	Press and Information	
	External Relations	
	Transport	
Hans VON DER GROEBEN	Competition (Chairman) Agriculture	Germany
Jean REY	External Relations (Chairman)	Belgium
	Internal Market	
	Competition	
Henri ROCHEREAU	Social Affairs	France
	Agriculture	
	Transport	
	Board of Directors of the Joint Press and	

	www.cvce.eu	
	Information Service	
Lambert SCHAUS	Transport (Chairman)	Luxembourg
	Agriculture Internal Market	