## The Member States of WEU

**Caption:** List of Member States, Associate Members, Observers and Associate Partners of Western European Union (WEU).

**Source:** List of 28 Delegations. [ON-LINE]. [s.l.]: Western European Union (WEU), [06.06.2003]. Disponible sur http://www.weu.int/Delegations.htm.

Copyright: (c) WEU Secretariat General - Secrétariat Général UEO

 $\label{eq:url:http://www.cvce.eu/obj/the_member_states_of_weu-en-2a3840c5-c20e-4c2b-b2bf-ob8cedf16b9a.html$ 

Last updated: 13/10/2016





## www.cvce.eu

## The Member States of Western European Union (WEU)(1)

10 Member States(2)	
Belgium*	1954 - founding member
France*	1954 - founding member
Germany	1954 - founding member
Greece	1995
Italy	1954 - founding member
Luxembourg*	1954 - founding member
Netherlands*	1954 - founding member
Portugal	1990
Spain	1990
United Kingdom*	1954 - founding member
6 Associate Members(3)	
Czech Republic	1999
Hungary	1999
Iceland	1992
Norway	1992
Poland	1999
Turkey	1992
5 Observers(4)	
Austria	1995
Denmark	1992
Finland	1995
Ireland	1992
Sweden	1995
7 Associate Partners(5)	
Bulgaria	1994
Estonia	1994
Latvia	1994
Lithuania	1994
Romania	1994
Slovakia	1994
Slovenia	1996

(1) Following a decision taken on 14 June 2001 by the Council of WEU, the Secretary-General stated during the 1352nd meeting of the Council on 28 June 2001 that, with regard to the period from 1 January 2002, the Member States deemed it unnecessary, in present and foreseeable circumstances, to make any formal change to the statuses of non-full members.

(2) This refers to those States that in 2002 were members both of the European Union and of NATO. Five of these States\* (Belgium, France, Luxembourg, the Netherlands and the United Kingdom) were the

signatories of the 1948 Brussels Treaty that established the Brussels Treaty Organisation, or Western Union. (3) This refers to those States that in 2002 were members of NATO but not of the European Union.

(4) This refers to those States that in 2002 were members of the European Union but not of NATO

(European States described as 'neutral'), with the exception of Denmark.

(5) This refers to those States that in 2002 were applicant countries of the European Union and not members of NATO.





## www.cvce.eu