

Presidents of the European Commission and Court of Human Rights (1954 - 1998)

Caption: List of the Presidents of the European Commission of Human Rights from 1954 to 1999 and of the Presidents of the European Court of Human Rights from 1959 to 1998.

Source: Cour européenne des Droits de l'Homme = European Court of Human Rights, Strasbourg, F-67075, Avenue de l'Europe.

Copyright: (c) European court of human rights

 $\textbf{URL:} \ \textbf{http://www.cvce.eu/obj/presidents_of_the_european_commission_and_court_of_human_rights_1954_1998-en-learned and the learned and$

1/2

a2b72abc-f7f8-4f64-ae97-eb1e85ddaf67.html

Publication date: 07/12/2012

07/12/2012



Presidents of the European Commission and Court of Human Rights (1954 - 1998)

Presidents of the European Commission of Human Rights		
Surname, first name	Nationality	Term of office
FABER, Paul	Luxembourgish	1954 - 1955
WALDOCK, Sir Humphrey	British	1955 - 1962
PETRÉN, Sture	Swedish	1962 - 1967
SØRENSEN, Max	Danish	1967 - 1972
FAWCETT, Sir James	British	1972 - 1981
NØRGAARD, Carl Aage	Danish	1981 - 1995
TRECHSEL, Stefan	Swiss	1995 - 1999
Presidents of the European Court of Human Rights		
Surname, first name	Nationality	Term of office
McNAIR, Lord Arnold Duncan	British	1959 - 1965
CASSIN, René Samuel	French	1965 - 1968
ROLIN, Henri	Belgian	1968 - 1971
WALDOCK, Sir Humphrey	British	1971 - 1974
BALLADORE PALLIERI, Giorgio	Italian	1974 - 1980
WIARDA, Gérard J.	Dutch	1981 - 1985
RYSSDAL, Rolv	Norwegian	1985 - 1998
BERNHARDT, Rudolf	German	1998

^{*} Following the entry into force of Protocol No 11 to the European Convention on Human Rights, which replaced the former Court and Commission by a single court, for a transitional period of one year the Commission dealt with issues that had been declared admissible before 31 October 1999.

2/2

07/12/2012