European Parliament minutes: extract concerning the election of the President of the European Commission (22 July 2004)

Caption: On 22 July 2004, the European Parliament, at a part-session in Strasbourg, elects José Manuel Barroso as President of the European Commission.

Source: EUROPARL - Plenary sessions. Minutes (Proceedings of the Sitting). [ON-LINE]. [s.l.]: European Parliament, [18.02.2005]. P6_PV(2004)07-22. Available on

http://www3.europarl.eu.int/omk/omnsapir.so/calendar?APP=PDF&TYPE=PV1&FILE=20040722EN.pdf&LANGUE=EN.

Copyright: (c) European Parliament

URL:

 $http://www.cvce.eu/obj/european_parliament_minutes_extract_concerning_the_election_of_the_president_of_the_european_commission_22_july_2004-en-ecfa2afb-6b6f-4336-bd36-d534757f0422.html$



Last updated: 03/11/2015



Extract from the minutes of the European Parliament part-session held in Strasbourg on 22 July 2004

8.2. Election of the President of the Commission

The President announced that he had received, in accordance with Rule 98, the nomination of José Manuel Durão Barroso.

The following spoke: Hans-Gert Poettering, on behalf of the PPE-DE Group, Martin Schulz, on behalf of the PSE Group, Graham R. Watson, on behalf of the ALDE Group, Daniel Marc Cohn-Bendit, on behalf of the Verts/ALE Group, Francis Wurtz, on behalf of the GUE/NGL Group, Nigel Paul Farage, on behalf of the IND/DEM Group, Brian Crowley, on behalf of the UEN Group, and Bruno Gollnisch, Non-attached Member.

The President confirmed that the tellers appointed for the elections of the President and the Vice-Presidents, i.e. Patrick Louis, István Pálfi, Justas Vincas Paleckis, Daniel J. Hannan, Pier Luigi Bersani, Marie Panayotopoulos-Cassiotou, Joseph Muscat and Astrid Lulling, would continue their functions, and asked them to take their places at the ballot boxes.

The vote was taken.

(The sitting was suspended at 12.50 for the count and resumed at 13.15.)

The President decided to wait until José Manuel Durão Barroso arrived before reading out the results of the vote.

Marco Pannella spoke.

José Manuel Durão Barroso arrived and the President read out the results of the vote:

- Members voting: 711

- Blank slips/abstentions: 44

- Void: 3

- Votes cast: 664

(The list of Members voting is annexed to these Minutes.)

413 votes had been cast in favour and 251 against. José Manuel Durão Barroso was thus elected President of the Commission.

The President congratulated him on his election and pointed out that, in accordance with Rule 98(3), he would inform the Council accordingly, requesting that it and the President-elect of the Commission propose by common accord the nominees for the various posts of Commissioners.

José Manuel Durão Barroso made a brief speech to mark his election.

