Press conference held by President-designate José Manuel Barroso (4 November 2004)

Caption: On 4 November 2004, President-designate José Manuel Barroso submits a new proposal for the composition of the future Commission.

Source: European Commission - President Jose Manuel Barroso. [ON-LINE]. [Brussels]: European

Commission, [30.12.2004]. Available on

http://europa.eu.int/comm/commission_barroso/president/pdf/press_20041104.pdf.

Copyright: (c) European Union

URL:

 $http://www.cvce.eu/obj/press_conference_held_by_president_designate_jose_manuel_barroso_4_november_2004-en-a430f38d-4e72-405b-a8a3-d9e50978bbab.html$

Last updated: 03/11/2015





Press conference held by President designate Barroso - New Team (4 November 2004)

- I am pleased that I am now in a position to present a new proposal for approval of the European Parliament. We are back on track.
- I have worked hard over recent days to build bridges and find a balanced solution. It was not easy; I was faced with contradictory demands. But I have moved swiftly.
- I think my team is of high quality; it is balanced, and it should allow all political groups to reach consensus.
- Last week, I heard the Parliament's message. I "stopped the clock" to avoid an unnecessary crisis. We now have a good solution.
- I want broad parliamentary backing for my Commission. That is essential for a strong Commission that can drive Europe forward.
- I have made the "necessary and sufficient" changes I promised.
- This is what I have done to build a team that can have strong support in the European Parliament :
- The Commissioner-designate from Italy has been replaced by Mr Franco Frattini, who is the Foreign Affairs Minister of Italy. He is an experienced politician and knows the EU institutions inside out. He did a successful job during the Italian Presidency. Mr Frattini will be Vice President; he will be in charge of Justice, Freedom and Security.
- The Commissioner-designate from Latvia has been replaced by Mr Andris Piebalgs. He has wide ministerial experience and knows EU policies across the board. He was ambassador and played a key role in negotiating his country's accession to the Union. I entrusted Mr Piebalgs with the responsibility for energy; his scientific education will be a considerable asset to make a success of this important policy.
- I have decided to give Mr Lazlo Kovacs the responsibility for Taxation and Customs Union. His background and his experience as a negotiator leave him well equipped to perform well and deal with the challenges related to this task.
- The changes allow us to maintain the balance of the original team. It still has the highest proportion of women ever. Its members have a broad range of political experience and in-depth knowledge of the EU and its policies.
- I have already informed president Borrell as a matter of courtesy of my proposals. Tomorrow, I will present the new team to the European Parliament at a special meeting of the Conference of Presidents. I wish to thank Mr Borrell for arranging this extraordinary meeting. This will no doubt speed up the process of approval of the new Commission.
- We are back on track. We need to get down to work quickly. After this period of intense democratic debate, we now owe it to Europe's citizens to meet their concerns head-on.

Portfolio responsibilities of the Barroso Commission

José Manuel BARROSO Margot WALLSTRÖM – Vice President Günter VERHEUGEN Jacques BARROT Siim KALLAS

Commissioner for Institutional Relations and Communication Strategy

Commissioner for Enterprise and Industry – Vice President

Commissioner for Transport – Vice President

Commissioner for Administrative Affairs, Audit and Anti-Fraud – Vice



President

Franco FRATTINI Commissioner for Justice, Freedom and Security – Vice President

Viviane REDING Commissioner for Information Society and Media

Stavros DIMAS Commissioner for Environment

Joaquin ALMUNIA Commissioner for Economic and Monetary Affairs

Danuta HÜBNER Commissioner for Regional Policy

Joe BORG Commissioner for Fisheries and Maritime Affairs

Dalia GRYBAUSKAITE Commissioner for Financial Programming and Budget

Janez POTOČNIK Commissioner for Science and Research

Ján FIGEL Commissioner for Education, Training, Culture, and Multilinguism Markos KYPRIANOU Commissioner for Health and Consumers Protection

Olli REHN Commissioner for Enlargement

Louis MICHEL Commissioner for Development and Humanitarian Aid

László KOVÁCS Commissioner for Taxation and Customs Union

Neelie KROES Commissioner for Competition

Mariann FISCHER BOEL Commissioner for Agriculture and Rural Development
Benita FERRERO-WALDNER Commissioner for External Relations and European

Neighbourhood Policy

Charlie McCREEVY Commissioner for Internal Market and Services

Vladimir SPIDLA Commissioner for Employment, Social Affairs and Equal Opportunities

Peter MANDELSON Commissioner for Trade Andris PIEBALGS Commissioner for Energy

