# Council Decision 2004/642/CE, Euratom (13 September 2004)

**Caption:** On 13 September 2004, the Council adopts by common accord with the President-designate of the Commission, José Manuel Barroso, the list of the other eminent persons whom the Council intends to appoint as Members of the Commission.

**Source:** Official Journal of the European Union (OJEU). 17.09.2004, n° L 294. [s.l.]. ISSN 0378-6978. "Council Decision, taken by common accord with the nominee for President of the Commission, of 13 September 2004 adopting the list of other persons whom the Council intends to appoint as Members of the Commission of the European Communities (2004/642/EC, Euratom)", p. 30.

**Copyright:** All rights of reproduction, public communication, adaptation, distribution or dissemination via Internet, internal network or any other means are strictly reserved in all countries. The documents available on this Web site are the exclusive property of their authors or right holders. Requests for authorisation are to be addressed to the authors or right holders concerned. Further information may be obtained by referring to the legal notice and the terms and conditions of use regarding this site.

#### URL:

http://www.cvce.eu/obj/council\_decision\_2004\_642\_ce\_euratom\_13\_september\_20 04-en-c66a366f-d9a6-407e-be4d-d309da3d9359.html



Last updated: 03/11/2015



### www.cvce.eu

# Council Decision, taken by common accord with the nominee for President of the Commission, of 13 September 2004 adopting the list of other persons whom the Council intends to appoint as Members of the Commission of the European Communities (2004/642/EC, Euratom)

# THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Community, and in particular Article 213(1) thereof, as amended with effect from 1 November 2004 by Article 45(2)(d) of the 2003 Act of Accession and by Article 4(1) of the Protocol on the enlargement of the European Union, annexed to the Treaty on European Union and to the Treaties establishing the European Communities, as well as the second subparagraph of Article 214(2) of the Treaty establishing the European Community,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Atomic Energy Community, and in particular Article 126(1) thereof, as amended with effect from 1 November 2004 by Article 45(2)(d) of the 2003 Act of Accession and by Article 4(1) of the Protocol on the enlargement of the European Union, annexed to the Treaty on European Union and to the Treaties establishing the European Communities, as well as the second subparagraph of Article 127(2) of the Treaty establishing the European Atomic Energy Community,

Whereas :

(1) A new Commission, consisting of one national of each Member State, must be appointed for the period from 1 November 2004 to 31 October 2009.

(2) On 29 June 2004 the Council, meeting in the composition of the Heads of State or Government, nominated Mr José Manuel DURÃO BARROSO as the person it intends to appoint as President of the Commission for the period from 1 November 2004 to 31 October 2009 (<sup>1</sup>).

(3) The European Parliament approved that nomination by a resolution dated 22 July 2004.

(4) The list of other persons whom the Council intends to appoint as Members of the Commission for a period of five years from 1 November 2004 to 31 October 2009 should be adopted by common accord with the nominee for President of the Commission.

(5) The entry into force of the Treaty establishing a Constitution for Europe will entail the expiry of the term of the Member of the Commission who has the same nationality as the future European Union Minister for Foreign Affairs, who will be a Vice-President of the Commission,

# HAS DECIDED AS FOLLOWS :

### Article 1

The following are hereby nominated by common accord with Mr José Manuel DURÃO BARROSO, nominee for President of the Commission, as the persons whom the Council intends to appoint as Members of the Commission of the European Communities for the period from 1 November 2004 to 31 October 2009 :

Mr Joaquín ALMUNIA AMANN Mr Jacques BARROT Mr Joe BORG Mr Rocco BUTTIGLIONE Mr Stavros DIMAS Ms Benita FERRERO-WALDNER Mr Ján FIGEL' Ms Mariann FISCHER BOEL



### www.cvce.eu

Ms Dalia GRYBAUSKAITÉ Ms Danuta HÜBNER Mr Siim KALLAS Mr László KOVÁCS Ms Neelie KROES Mr Markos KYPRIANOU Mr Peter MANDELSON Mr Charlie McCREEVY Mr Louis MICHEL Mr Janez POTOČNIK Ms Viviane REDING Mr Olli REHN Mr Vladimír ŠPIDLA Ms Ingrida UDRE Mr Günter VERHEUGEN Ms Margot WALLSTRÖM.

## Article 2

This Decision shall be published in the Official Journal of the European Union.

Done at Brussels, 13 September 2004.

For the Council The President B. R. Bot

(<sup>1</sup>) OJ L 236, 7.7.2004, p. 15.



# www.cvce.eu