Council Decision on the admission of Spain and Portugal to the EEC and to the EAEC (11 June 1985)

Caption: On 11 June 1985, the Council of the European Communities decides to accept the applications for admission of Spain and Portugal to the European Economic Community (EEC) and to the European Atomic Energy Community (EAEC).

Source: Official Journal of the European Communities (OJEC). 15.11.1985, No L 302. [s.l.].

Copyright: All rights of reproduction, public communication, adaptation, distribution or dissemination via Internet, internal network or any other means are strictly reserved in all countries.

The documents available on this Web site are the exclusive property of their authors or right holders.

Requests for authorisation are to be addressed to the authors or right holders concerned.

Further information may be obtained by referring to the legal notice and the terms and conditions of use regarding this site.

URL:

http://www.cvce.eu/obj/council_decision_on_the_admission_of_spain_and_portugal_to_the_eec_and_to_the_eaec_11_j une_1985-en-b0a996c4-afce-491c-9ba5-1402c6506527.html

Publication date: 06/09/2012

(CVCe

Decision of the Council of the European Communities of 11 June 1985 on the admission of the Kingdom of Spain and the Portuguese Republic to the European Economic Community and to the European Atomic Energy Community

THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN COMMUNITIES,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Economic Community, and in particular Article 237 thereof,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Atomic Energy Community, and in particular Article 205 thereof,

Having regard to the opinion of the Commission,

With reference to the opinion of the European Parliament,

Whereas the Kingdom of Spain and the Portuguese Republic have applied to become members of the European Economic Community and the European Atomic Energy Community,

HAS DECIDED:

to accept these applications for admission; the conditions of admission and the adjustments to the Treaties necessitated thereby are to be the subject of an agreement between the Member States, the Kingdom of Spain and the Portuguese republic.