

Treaty establishing a Constitution for Europe: extract concerning the symbols of the Union (Rome, 29 October 2004)

Caption: In the series of European Treaties, the Treaty establishing a Constitution for Europe, signed in Rome on 29 October 2004, is the first to define the symbols of the Union.

Source: Official Journal of the European Union (OJEU). 16.12.2004, No C 310. [s.l.]. ISSN 1725-2423.

Copyright: All rights of reproduction, public communication, adaptation, distribution or dissemination via Internet, internal network or any other means are strictly reserved in all countries.

The documents available on this Web site are the exclusive property of their authors or right holders.

Requests for authorisation are to be addressed to the authors or right holders concerned.

Further information may be obtained by referring to the legal notice and the terms and conditions of use regarding this site.

URL:

 $http://www.cvce.eu/obj/treaty_establishing_a_constitution_for_europe_extract_concerning_the_symbols_of_the_union_rome_29_october_2004-en-1eb9473b-6f8d-42ed-b8cb-660d06d2e166.html$

1/2

Publication date: 03/12/2012

03/12/2012



Treaty establishing a Constitution for Europe (Rome, 29 October 2004)

[...]

Article I-8

The symbols of the Union

The flag of the Union shall be a circle of twelve golden stars on a blue background.

The anthem of the Union shall be based on the 'Ode to Joy' from the Ninth Symphony by Ludwig van Beethoven.

The motto of the Union shall be: 'United in diversity'.

The currency of the Union shall be the euro.

Europe day shall be celebrated on 9 May throughout the Union.

[...]

03/12/2012

2/2