Portugal and the European integration process: Key (1947–2007)

Copyright: (c) Translation CVCE.EU by UNI.LU

All rights of reproduction, of public communication, of adaptation, of distribution or of dissemination via Internet, internal network or any other means are strictly reserved in all countries. Consult the legal notice and the terms and conditions of use regarding this site.

URL:

http://www.cvce.eu/obj/portugal_and_the_european_integration_process_key_1947 _2007-en-adae7cd7-770f-47f2-8f15-b570084ac77e.html



Last updated: 05/07/2016



Portugal and European integration: Key dates (1947–2007)

13 July-22 September 1947

Portugal takes part in the Conference on European Economic Cooperation to discuss the Marshall Plan held in Paris.

16 April 1948

Portugal signs the Convention establishing the Organisation for European Economic Cooperation (OEEC) in Paris.

16 October 1948

Portugal signs the Agreement for Intra-European Payments and Compensations in Paris.

24 November 1948

The Portuguese Economic Programme is submitted to the OEEC.

4 April 1949

Portugal signs the North Atlantic Treaty (NATO) in Washington.

19 September 1950

Portugal signs the Agreement establishing the European Payments Union (EPU) in Paris.

5 August 1955

Portugal signs the European Monetary Agreement in Paris.

4 January 1960

Portugal signs the Convention establishing the European Free Trade Association (EFTA) in Stockholm.

28 January 1961

The Programme for the Democratisation of the Portuguese Republic is presented to the Presidency of the Portuguese Republic.

15 March 1961

Outbreak of the Portuguese colonial wars in Africa (Angola, Guinea-Bissau and Mozambique).

12 April 1961

Attempted *coup d'état* led by the Minister of National Defence, General Júlio Botelho Moniz, against the regime of António de Oliveira Salazar.

14 May 1962

The Portuguese Mission to the European Communities is established.

18 May 1962

Portugal officially requests the opening of negotiations with the European Communities.

27 September 1968

The President of Portugal, Américo Tomás, dismisses António de Oliveira Salazar from office and replaces him by Marcelo Caetano.

23 March 1970

The Working Party on European Economic Integration is set up with a view to the opening of negotiations for the accession of Portugal to the European Communities.

22 July 1972

Portugal signs a trade agreement with the European Communities in Brussels.



19 April 1973

The Portuguese Socialist Party is formed in Germany by the *Acção Socialista Portuguesa* (Portuguese Socialist Action), itself established in Geneva in April 1964. Mário Soares is elected Secretary-General of the Party.

25 April 1974

Carnation Revolution. Military-led *coup d'état* instigated by the *Movimento das Forças Armadas* (Movement of the Armed Forces — MFA) which puts an end to the regime; formation of the *Junta de Salvação Nacional* (National Salvation Junta — JSN), presided by General António de Spínola, so as to ensure the normal operation of the main institutions of the State.

28-30 April 1974

Mário Soares, Ramos da Costa, Tito de Morais and Álvaro Cunhal return from exile.

15 May 1974

António de Spínola is invested as President of the Republic. The first temporary government is named, led by Adelino da Palma Carlos.

25 April 1975

First anniversary of the Revolution; election of the Constituent National Assembly.

1 August 1975

Portugal signs the Final Act of the Conference on Security and Cooperation in Europe (CSCE) in Helsinki.

2 April 1976

The Constituent Assembly, meeting in plenary session, approves the Constitution of the Portuguese Republic.

27 June 1976

The first free Portuguese presidential elections by direct universal suffrage take place. Ramalho Eanes is elected President.

23 July 1976

First constitutional government led by Mário Soares.

20 September 1976

Portugal signs a Financial Protocol and an Additional Protocol to the 1972 Agreement, as well as an interim trade agreement, with the European Communities in Brussels.

22 September 1976

Portugal accedes to the Council of Europe.

11 March 1977

Portuguese Prime Minister, Mário Soares, travels to the European Commission as part of his visit to several European capitals.

28 March 1977

Official application for the accession of Portugal to the European Communities.

3 February 1982

The Member States of the EEC agree to support the development of infrastructure in eastern Portugal and finance the construction of the EN 16 motorway.



3 December 1982

Portugal signs, in Brussels, a Transitional Protocol to the 1976 Agreement concluded with the EEC.

24 October 1984

Portugal signs a joint declaration with the EEC in Dublin with a view to acceding to the European Communities in 1986.

12 June 1985

Portugal signs, in Lisbon, the Treaty of Accession to the European Communities, which is scheduled to come into effect on 1 January 1986.

1988

Implementation of the *Programa Específico de Desenvolvimento da Indústria Portuguesa* (programme to modernise Portuguese industry — PEDIP), financed by the EEC.

14 November 1988

Portugal signs the Treaty of Accession to Western European Union (WEU) in London.

10 January 1989

The European Regional Development Fund (ERDF) grants Portugal 6 000 million escudos to finance infrastructure development.

21 March 1990

The EEC allocates 7 000 million escudos to the Algarve region.

1 August 1991

The EEC allocates 1 280 million escudos to Portugal for scientific research.

1 January 1992

The first Portuguese Presidency of the Council of the European Communities begins. The Portuguese escudo joins the European Monetary System (EMS).

7 February 1992

Portugal signs the Treaty on European Union in Maastricht.

1 January 2000

The second Portuguese Presidency of the Council of the European Union begins.

23-24 March 2000

Lisbon Extraordinary European Council.

1 January 2002

The first euros are put into circulation by the Banco de Portugal.

22 November 2004

José Manuel Durão Barroso is appointed President of the European Commission.

1 July 2007

The third Portuguese Presidency of the Council of the European Union begins.

