The Treaty establishing the EEC

Source: CVCE.

Copyright: (c) CVCE.EU by UNI.LU

All rights of reproduction, of public communication, of adaptation, of distribution or of dissemination via Internet, internal network or any other means are strictly reserved in all countries. Consult the legal notice and the terms and conditions of use regarding this site.

URL: http://www.cvce.eu/obj/the_treaty_establishing_the_eec-en-c52372fa-cf56-458b-95a3-d11bd213do2a.html

Last updated: 08/08/2016





The Treaty establishing the EEC

The <u>Treaty establishing the European Economic Community (EEC)</u>, which was concluded for an unlimited period, comprises 248 articles plus 22 annexes. The Treaty is based on four broad principles: progressiveness, irreversibility, the prohibition of discrimination, and the open nature of the Community. It applies to the six Member States of the European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC) and it sets out the principles for the association of the overseas countries and territories (OCTs) and French overseas departments.

The EEC Treaty lays down the objective and the details of a customs union, provides for the drawing up of a common agricultural policy (CAP) and sets out rules for the free movement of persons, services and capital. In regard to the standardisation of competition, the EEC Treaty contains provisions on the rules applicable to undertakings and state aid. Finally, it outlines a common transport policy.

The Treaty provides for a legislative power (the Assembly), an executive power (the Council and the Commission) and a judicial power (the Court of Justice).

