

The Council of Europe's Member States (1949-2012)

Caption: List of the Member States and the Observers of the Council of Europe since 1949.

Source: The Council of Europe. Available on http://www.coe.int/en/.

Copyright: (c) Council of Europe

URL: http://www.cvce.eu/obj/the_council_of_europe_s_member_states_1949_2012-en-4c27ff67-462f-4cea-8e73-

1/3

e439a0042084.html

Publication date: 10/12/2012

10/12/2012



The Council of Europe's Member States

Status	Date of accession	Country
Member States	05.05.1949	Belgium
		Denmark
		France
		Ireland
		Italy
		Luxembourg
		Netherlands
		Norway
		Sweden
		United Kingdom
	09.08.1949	Greece
		Turkey
	07.03.1950	Iceland
	13.07.1950	Germany
	16.04.1956	Austria
	24.05.1961	Cyprus
	06.05.1963	Switzerland
	29.04.1965	Malta
	22.09.1976	Portugal
	24.11.1977	Spain
	23.11.1978	Liechtenstein
	16.11.1988	San Marino
	05.05.1989	Finland
	06.11.1990	Hungary
	26.11.1991	Poland
	07.05.1992	Bulgaria
	14.05.1993	Estonia
		Lithuania
		Slovenia
	30.06.1993	Czech Republic
		Slovakia
	07.10.1993	Romania
	10.11.1994	Andorra
	10.02.1995	Latvia
	13.07.1995	Albania
		Moldova

2 / 3 10/12/2012



	09.11.1995	Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia
		Ukraine
	28.02.1996	Russian Federation
	06.11.1996	Croatia
	27.04.1999	Georgia
	25.01.2001	Armenia
		Azerbaijan
	24.04.2002	Bosnia & Herzegovina
	03.04.2003	Serbia (1)
	05.10.2004	Monaco
	11.05.2007	Montenegro
Observers to the Committee of Ministers	07.03.1970	Holy See
	10.01.1996	United States of America
	29.05.1996	Canada
	20.11.1996	Japan
	01.12.1999	Mexico
Observers to the Parliamentary Assembly	02.12.1957	Israel
	28.05.1997	Canada
	04.11.1999	Mexico
Partners for democracy with the Parliamentary Assembly	21.06.2011	Morocco (2)
	04.10.2011	Palestinian National Council (3)
	04.10.2011	ratestillali National Councii (3)

⁽¹⁾ On 3 April 2003, Serbia and Montenegro joined the Council of Europe. After Montenegro's independence, following the referendum held on 21 May 2006, only Serbia remained a member of the Council of Europe. Montenegro became a Member State on 11 May 2007.

3/3

10/12/2012

⁽²⁾ On 21 June 2011, the partner for democracy status was granted to the Parliament of Morocco by Resolution 1818 (2011) of the Parliamentary Assembly.

⁽³⁾ On 4 October 2011, the partner for democracy status was granted to the Palestinian National Council by Resolution 1830 (2011) of the Parliamentary Assembly.