Reply by the WEU Council to Assembly Recommendation 189 on the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons (London, 10 March 1970)

Caption: On 10 March 1970, the Secretary-General of Western European Union (WEU) circulates the final reply by the WEU Council to Assembly Recommendation 189 on the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons (NPT). Regarding the signing of the Treaty by the WEU Member States, the Council merely lists the six signatory countries: the United Kingdom, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Belgium, Italy and the Federal Republic of Germany (FRG). It does not mention France, the only WEU Member State that has not signed the Treaty. As a depository government, the United Kingdom ratified the NPT on 27 November 1968. The five other WEU Member States are deferring ratification of the Treaty until an agreement on verification procedures has been concluded between the European Atomic Energy Community (Euratom) and the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA).

Source: Council of the Western European Union. Secretary-General's note. Assembly Recommendation 189. London: 10.03.1970. C (70) 34. 2 p. Archives nationales de Luxembourg (ANLux). http://www.anlux.lu. Western European Union Archives. Secretariat-General/Council's Archives. 1954-1987. Organs of the Western European Union. Year: 1969, 01/12/1969-16/10/1985. File 202.413.999.06. Volume 1/1.

Copyright: (c) WEU Secretariat General - Secrétariat Général UEO

URL:

http://www.cvce.eu/obj/reply_by_the_weu_council_to_assembly_recommendation_ 189_on_the_treaty_on_the_non_proliferation_of_nuclear_weapons_london_10_ma rch_1970-en-33d8abbf-ec18-4298-bd10-a55d16eba9f3.html



Last updated: 13/10/2016



www.cvce.eu

WESTERN EUROPEAN UNION

W.E.U. UNCLASSIFIED Original: French/English <u>C (70) 34</u> <u>1)th March 1970</u>

SECRETARY-GENERAL'S NOTE

Assembly Recommendation 189

The Secretary-General circulates herewith the Council's reply to Recommendation 189 of the Assembly.

The reply, adopted by the Council at their meeting of 5th March 1970, has now been forwarded to the Assembly (CR (70) 5, V, 2).

MITIC

9, Grosvenor Place, London, S.W.l.

W.E.U. UNCLASSIFIED



www.cvce.eu

W.E.U. UNCLASSIFIED C (70) 34

Reply to Assembly Recommendation 189 on the Treaty on the Non-proliferation of nuclear weapons

- 2 -

The Council have noted the points raised by the Assembly in Recommendation 189. They agree that the Treaty on the Non-proliferation of nuclear weapons offers definite advantages for world stability and progress towards nuclear disarmament.

For these reasons, as the Assembly is aware, the United Kingdom, as a depository government, signed the Treaty on 1st July 1968 and ratified it on 27th November of the same year. The Treaty was also signed by the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg on 14th August 1968, by the Netherlands on 19th August 1968, by Belgium on 20th August 1968, by Italy on 28th January 1969, and by the Federal Republic of Germany on 28th November 1969.

In declarations made at the time of signature, five W.E.U. countries also members of EURATOM stated that they would defer ratification of the Treaty until an agreement on verification procedures had been concluded between EURATOM and the I.A.E.A. Discussions on the subject have begun between these five countries.

The text of the above-mentioned statements was reproduced in the report of the Committee on Defence Questions and Armaments of the Assembly on the Treaty on the Non-proliferation of nuclear weapons.

W.E.U. UNCLASSIFIED

