Conclusions of the Luxembourg European Council (12 and 13 December 1997)

The Luxembourg European Council of 12 and 13 December 1997 decides to launch a comprehensive, inclusive and ongoing enlargement process, encompassing the ten countries applying for accession to the Union from Central and Eastern Europe, plus Cyprus. In addition, it decides to begin, in the spring of 1998, accession negotiations with Cyprus, Hungary, Poland, Estonia, the Czech Republic and Slovenia.

Source and copyright

Source: Presidency Conclusions - Luxembourg European Council, 12-13 December 1997. [ON-LINE]. [s.l.]: Council of the European Union, [16.04.2004]. SN400/97. Available on

Copyright: (c) European Union, 1995-2012

This document is also available in…

The PDF content cannot be displayed in the browser. To view the content, please install
Download Content