Decision of the Brussels European Council on the Member States fulfilling the conditions for the adoption of the single currency (3 May 1998)

On 3 May 1998, following the extraordinary Brussels European Council, the Heads of State or Government of the Fifteen draw up a list of the 11 countries (Belgium, Germany, Spain, France, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Austria, Portugal and Finland) which meet the conditions required for transition to the third stage of Economic and Monetary Union (EMU) and for the adoption of the single currency on 1 January 1999.

Source and copyright

Source: Official Journal of the European Communities (OJEC). 11.05.1998, n° L 139. [s.l.]. "Council Decision of 3 May 1998 in accordance with Article 109j(4) of the Treaty", p. 30-35.

Copyright: All rights of reproduction, public communication, adaptation, distribution or dissemination via Internet, internal network or any other means are strictly reserved in all countries. The documents available on this Web site are the exclusive property of their authors or right holders. Requests for authorisation are to be addressed to the authors or right holders concerned. Further information may be obtained by referring to the legal notice and the terms and conditions of use regarding this site.

This document is also available in…

The PDF content cannot be displayed in the browser. To view the content, please install
Download Content