Extraordinary meeting of the Ecofin Council (Brussels, 31 December 1998)

On 31 December 1998, the Council, acting on the unanimous vote of those European Union Member States not covered by a derogation, on a proposal from the European Commission and after consulting the European Central Bank (ECB), establishes the irrevocable conversion rates for the euro which will be applicable from 1 January 1999, the date of transition to the third stage of Economic and Monetary Union (EMU).

Source and copyright

Source: Médiathèque centrale de la Commission européenne, Berlaymont 4/363, 200 rue de la Loi B-1049 Bruxelles.
Troisième phase de l'Union économique et monétaire- Bruxelles: Commission européenne [Prod.], 31.12.1998. DG Press & Communication, Commission européenne, Bruxelles. - VIDEO (00:06:50, Couleur, Son original).

Copyright: European Commission Audiovisual Library

This document is also available in…