Signing of the Treaty merging the executive bodies of the three European Communities (Brussels, 8 April 1965)

On 8 April 1965, in Brussels, the Foreign Ministers of the Six sign the Treaty which provides for the merging of the executive bodies of the European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC), the European Economic Community (EEC) and the European Atomic Energy Community (EAEC). After ratification by the national parliaments of the Six, the Merger Treaty — establishing a Single Council and a Single Commission in Brussels for the three Communities — will enter into force on 1 July 1967.

Source and copyright

Source: Signature du Traité de fusion des exécutifs des trois Communautés- Bruxelles: Médiathèque de la Commission européenne [Prod.], 08.04.1965. Médiathèque de la Commission européenne, Bruxelles. - FILM (00:32, Noir et blanc, Muet).
Médiathèque centrale de la Commission européenne, Berlaymont 4/363, 200 rue de la Loi B-1049 Bruxelles.

Copyright: Union européenne

This document is also available in…