The euro, a beacon for Europe

On 1 January 1999, at the transition to the third stage of Economic and Monetary Union (EMU), the euro is introduced as an optional unit of account or as bank money in 11 of the 15 European Union Member States.

Source and copyright

Source: L'euro, une monnaie phare. Commission européenne, 02/03/1998. Noir et blanc.

Copyright: (c) European Community

This document is also available in…

The euro, a beacon for Europe