‘The reform of the Commission’, by Robert Boulay (RTL, 12 May 1970)

In RTL radio’s news bulletin of 12 May 1970, Robert Boulay explains how the Six reached agreement on a timetable which will allow negotiations to be opened with the four countries applying for accession to the European Communities: Denmark, Ireland, Norway and the United Kingdom. Pierre Harmel, Belgian Foreign Minister, also explains how the forthcoming reduction in the number of Members of the European Commission from 14 to 9 — which means that his country may now nominate only one Commissioner — should not cause too many problems, despite the multilingual nature of Belgium.

Source et copyright

Source: Harmel: la Commission passe de 14 à 9 membres- RTL [Prod.], 12.05.1970. RTL, Paris. - SON (00:02:36, Montage, Son original).

Photo: Pierre Harmel receives the Atlantic Award. Bruxelles: 25 november 1987. Noir et blanc.

Copyright: (c) Archives RTL

Photo: Photo OTAN / NATO

Ce document se trouve également dans…

Pierre Harmel receives the Atlantic Award (Brussels, 25 November 1987)