The Brussels Treaty (17 March 1948)

The Treaty of Economic, Social and Cultural Collaboration and Collective Self-Defence, signed in Brussels on 17 March 1948 by Belgium, France, Luxembourg, the Netherlands and the United Kingdom. It enters into force on 25 August 1948. Although this Treaty provides only for ‘cooperation’ between the contracting parties, ‘which will be effected through the Consultative Council referred to in Article VII’, and it does not provide for the establishment of an international organisation, in practice it leads to the creation of an organisation known as the ‘Brussels Treaty Organisation’ or ‘Western Union’.

Quelle und Copyright

Quelle: Western European Union - Union de l'Europe Occidentale. [EN LIGNE]. [Bruxelles]: Union de l'Europe occidentale, [06.10.2000]. Disponible sur
Archives nationales du Luxembourg, Luxembourg. Ministère des Affaires étrangères (1732-1998). Ministère des Affaires étrangères - Traités et Conventions. Traité entre la Belgique, la France, le Luxembourg, les Pays-Bas et le Royaume Uni de Grande-Bretagne et d'Irlande du Nord -s. à Bruxelles, AE TC 365.

Copyright: (c) WEU Secretariat General - Secrétariat Général UEO

Dieses Dokument ist ebenfalls abrufbar unter…

Der PDF-Inhalt kann im Browser nicht angezeigt werden. Um den Inhalt anzuzeigen, müssen Sie installieren.
Inhalt herunterladen