- Born on 11 March 1945 in Ophain-Bois-Seigneur-Isaac (B)

- Nationality: Belgian

- World Bank (‘West Africa’ region then ‘Europe, Middle East and North Africa’ region) (1974– 1979)

- Assistant Manager, Kredietbank S.A. Luxembourgeoise (1979–1980)

- Head of the Financial Relations Department in the European Office of the World Bank, Paris (1980–1986)

- Economic Adviser at the Commission of the European Communities in the Directorate-General for Economic and Financial Affairs (1986–1988)

- Head of the Private Office of the Belgian Finance Minister, representative of the Finance Minister in the preparatory negotiations for the Maastricht Treaty and head of the Belgian delegation to the conference for the creation of the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (1988–1991)

- Executive Director of the World Bank, representative of Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Hungary, Kazakhstan, Luxembourg, Slovakia, the Czech Republic and Turkey on the Board of the World Bank (1991–1994)

- Director of the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD), representative of Belgium, Luxembourg and Slovenia on the EBRD Board of Directors (1994–2002)

- Director of Working Table II on ‘Economic reconstruction, development and cooperation’ within the Stability Pact for South Eastern Europe (2002–2005)

- Coordinator of economic and environmental activities at the Organisation for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE) (2005–2008)

- President of the European League for Economic Cooperation (ELEC) (since 2008)

- President of Robert Triffin International (since 2008)

Consult in PDF format