- Born on 27 March 1944 in Madrid

- Nationality: Spanish

- PhD in Economics and Law from the Complutense University of Madrid

- Lecturer in economic structures at the Complutense University of Madrid, lecturer in agrarian economics at the ENEA (National Institute of Agricultural Studies) in Valladolid and lecturer in economics at ICADE (1965–1972)

- Human rights lawyer (1970–1977)

- Member of the Congress of Deputies (1977–1982)

- Minister for Transport, Communications and Tourism (1982–1985)

- Member of the European Parliament (1986–2009), where he served as Chairman of the Foreign Affairs Committee (1992–1994), Chairman of the International Trade Committee (2004–2007) and Chairman of the Socialist Group (1999–2004)

- President of the European Parliament (1989–1992)

- Representative of the European Parliament at the Intergovernmental Conference that prepared the Treaty of Lisbon (2007)

- He is currently holder of a Jean Monnet Chair (ad personam) at the University of Castilla-La Mancha and a visiting lecturer at several universities

Im PDF-Format einsehen